DWM1000 anchor vs tag

Hi,

I’m new to the UWB sensor and maybe I’m asking a noob question.

My question is it seems the DWM1000 can be used as a tag (e.g, attached to a robot). How about the hardware that can play the anchor role?

It would be great if you can share your setup in detail. I’m looking for a solution to localize robots and moving people inside the lecture hall.

Thanks!

Hey there!
Well DWM1000 is a module responsible for the communication in UWB technology.
So in this case if you have 2 devices and use the principle of ToA (Time-of-Arrival), for exemple, you can measure the time that your communication takes to travel from device A to device B. And then the principle of localization shows up here and you probably already know about this. They can be used in tag devices and in anchors devices.
So, for a “simple hardware” you only “need this module and a MCU”. Depending the way you want to use this system, you can try to integrate with our robot, but you will need to have anchors.
If you really want build your hardware from the beggining many aspets should be considered like calibrations, antenna,…so on.
In the case of the anchors it will depend the way you really want to used them, with this i mean, imagine if you put an altimeter to try an improvement on Z axis on case of localization in 3D. So a lot of options can be done.
You can use the datasheet and user Manual from DecaWave to actually learn all about this things.
Hope I could help.
Cheerz

The most common way of building a system like you want would be TDoA.
The tag is a dwm1000 with a small mcu controlling it. It is transmit only* sending out a single packet with it’s ID and any other status information at a fixed interval.