Effective documentation for programming the MDEK1001 Tags perform my custom ranging?

Hi, everyone. I am interested in programming the MDEK1001 tags that I have purchased, to perform my own custom anchorless Mesh-ranging method while attached on different RPi’s. Since my background is more theoretical and less of practical, I would like to ask for some hints on that. I need basically to have access to low-level features so that I can perform the ranging on my own along with access to CIR amplitude, Harmonic amplitudes, FP/RX, etc. I need to setup my own communication protocol (and its orchestration) of the UWB modules and the final cooperative localization shall be performed in a distributed way from the RPi swarm.

For that, I am trying to identify the correct documentation and I am unfortunately a bit lost because I see various things with possible overlaps (e.g. DW100 USER MANUAL / DWM1001 Firmware User Guide / DWM1001 FIRMWARE APPLICATION PROGRAMMING INTERFACE (API) GUIDE, etc.). Which guide corresponds to my case?

If you want to write your own ranging protocol then you have two options:

You use the decawave firmware API, this gives you a set of drivers and function calls using those drivers to configure the radio and send and receive data. For basic functions you should be able to use these functions e.g. to transmit a message call the transmit function passing it the message to send. The api firmware pack includes examples of how to perform various operations using these function calls.
Depending on what exactly you are doing you may need to do something that doesn’t have a nice abstracted API call in the drivers. In that situation you can also use the register read/write commands to directly read and write registers in the DW1000 chip to achieve the required functionality. The DW1000 user manual details all of these registers but is not exactly light reading.