FCC regulation on UWB

Hi,
As per FCC regulation an outdoor UWB network must operate without a fixed infrastructure. Meaning you couldn’t permanently mount UWB transceivers in fixed positions outdoors to set up an RTLS system for an open field. Does this mean that I cannot use Decawave anchors and tags outdoors? I am planning to use Decawave for train localization.

Any clarification on this by the Decawave team would be highly appreciated.

See this site for some details on the FCC regulations - https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/47/part-15
DWM1001 FCC Grant was under 15.250 rules

To address your question, Tx outdoors is not allowed from ‘fixed’ infrastructure

Thank you for your response.

So, If I place an anchor at a fixed location and a tag on the vehicle to be tracked, will the anchor count as a fixed infrastructure?

I am not an expert on the topic. But the FCC may provide a waiver for some circumstances.

See the following article -

You will not find a clear and authoritative interpretation from the FCC on what is “fixed outdoor infrastructure” as stated in 47 CFR 15.250(c).

All three words are subject to interpretation.

Let’s handle “infrastructure” first.

When the FCC put the 15.250 rules in place in the 1990s, there were hearings and discussion on the proposed rules which were aimed at making sure UWB did not proliferate in a way to damage the incumbent spectrum holders, the so called “anti proliferation rules”. Basically, how can we limit UWB so that there aren’t too many of them that would raise the noise floor on existing narrow band systems using the overlaid frequencies. Hence no toys, no flying things, and no “outdoor fixed infrastructure”.