PDoA with 2 DWM1001c

Hi,

I’m new to DW1000 chip and for my company project we’re interest in UWB. So i bough 3 DWM1001c to test it out. We want that each system with DW1000 is aware of other system and knows their relative position (x,y). That’s mean calculating distance and Angle of Arrival.

For calculating distance, i understand that Symetric Double-sided Two Way Ranging do the trick. I found a single sided TWR example hereon the Decawave github that work for me.

It’s a different story for AoA. I’ve read the whitepaper about it, and they all said i need a array of antenna. Decawave have a beta kit with “DWM1002” (aka “Mona Lisa”) and “DWM1003” that implement the Phase Difference of Arrival and i think it’s what i need.

Knowing this, i have several questions :

1. Is it possible to have a topology where all DW1000 act as node and anchor ?
  2. Is it possible to code both TWR and PDoA ?
  3. Is a range of 100 meter and 30cm accuracy outdoor ok ?
  4. If i want to design my own board with 2 DW1000 and PCB antenna like DWM1002, can i have recommandations ?

Regards,

Nathan

I forgot, if i want to test PDoA with 2 DWM1001c side by side like a testbench, even with clock drift, is it possible ?

The answer to your questions will mainly come down to how much firmware work you put in.

The supplied PANS positioning system is a generic solution that aims to work for most people most of the time but isn’t open source, if it doesn’t do what you want then you can’t use it.

The supplied library source code allows you build your own system for most applications without getting too involved with the internals of the ranging system if you don’t mind using the decawave data structures and the API they define. Or you can read the IC user manual and write your own library (or modify theirs) and talk directly to the DW1000 with your own API and function calls.