Porting the Decawave to different devices

Hello,

I am new to the DECAWAVE world and was looking for a little help.

When porting code for a new micro controller to run the examples given in the example library, do I need to change every aspect of the port.c and port.h file or just the functions that I need to run the individual example that i want to do. And if there is a better approach, please let me know.

Thanks for your help!
Sean Rea

Sean,

I did a port to an ARM M0, and got all the examples to work in a few days, and I am not a hot programmer by any means.

You don’t actually need to implement the DW interrupt line, and so you can null out the mutex because the examples poll the status register. Of course in real code you will want to multi-thread.
Read the documents that explain how ranging works, and what the various library calls actually do. You’ll save time in the long run.

Here’s a ToDo list which I’m sure others will modify in the light of their experience:
Write some wrapper code writetospi and readfromspi for the native SPI driver code supplied by your uC vendor. (or… sigh - write your own drivers)
Demonstrate SPI works by getting the library function dwt_readdevid​ to work at default speed, then make it work at the highest speed you can. 8M in my case.
During debugging I managed to get the chip into a state where dwt_spicswakeup seemed not to be enough, so I ported the reset procedure that waggles and then disconnects the RSTN pin. It’s subtle so make sure you understand how to set the pins up correctly for the task.
The various flavors of tx/rx packet then worked repeatably, and ran overnight without a hitch.
The ranging demos have hard-coded constants for three important delay, sleep, and timeout parameters which I had to fiddle with to work with my super-slow processor.
General advice:
Write yourself some code to print out the status results in a form that’s easy to understand